Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Music (28)

Adam Up

Posted : 10 years, 7 months ago on 23 April 2007 08:46 (A review of Adam Up)

Every time I listen to ApologetiX, I feel like throwing up. I don't know what it is about this band, but I just can't stand them. To add to my misery, this is probably the longest cd I've ever heard. If you're like me and you like honest rock, steer away from this band/cd, but if you like parody, ignore this review. 2 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Never Take Friendship Personal

Posted : 10 years, 8 months ago on 9 April 2007 11:31 (A review of Never Take Friendship Personal)

Anberlin has quickly made a name for themselves. They released one of the best debuts I've ever heard, and then followed up with "Never Take Friendship Personal". Anberlin showcases their infectious emo flavored rock once again. "Never Take Friendship Personal" is another work of genius from Anberlin, but after releasing such a work of art for a debut, this album doesn't quite top their first. This is still a worthy release, and one that I highly recommend at that. Anberlin is a band that will be around for quite some time in the music scene, so if you haven't heard of them, check them out now. Tracks include: Never Take Friendship Personal, Paperthin Hymn, Stationary Stationery, (The Symphony of) Blase, A Day Late, The Runaways, Time & Confusion, The Feel Good Drag, Audrey Start the Revolution!, A Heavy Hearted Work of Staggering Genius, and Dance Dance Christa Paffgen. 9 out of 10 stars for another splended CD.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Blueprints for the Black Market

Posted : 10 years, 8 months ago on 29 March 2007 08:13 (A review of Blueprints for the Black Market)

Rarely have I ever seen such a gem. Normally it takes a band a while to get a cd worthy of such attention, but apparently Anberlin didn't get the memo. Their debut cd is quite possibly one of the best cds ever. Why you may ask. Try listening to it without singing/dancing/tapping your feet along to the music. Anberlin's brand of emo/indie rock is contagious, and this cd is proof. Each song is well done. I highly recommend this cd. Tracks include: Readyfuels, Foreign Language, Change the World (Lost Ones), Cold War Transmissions, Glass To the Arson, The Undeveloped Story, Autobahn, We Dreamt in Heist, Love Song, Cadence, and Naive Orleans. I give this cd a perfect 10 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Red

Posted : 10 years, 8 months ago on 29 March 2007 07:55 (A review of Red)

Another worth-while album from American Made, although in my opinion not quite as good as "Against the Flow". The fun, uplifting punk is still there, but they incorporate more straight rock in this album, mixed with a bit of rapcore. Not a lengthy album, but check it out if you're into punk. Tracks include: Days Left Behind, Better Off Dead, Andy's Tools, Matt & Benny, Aggie, Radio, Giving Up, Had a Chance, What You Want, Struggle Me, Amplified, and After All. 6 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Against the Flow

Posted : 10 years, 8 months ago on 29 March 2007 06:51 (A review of Against the Flow)

Positive, uplifting, and fun: Those words sum up this album. While this album may not be perfect, it is above average punk and well worth checking out. Not a particularly long album, but worth the listen. Tracks include: American Made, Earth Girls, Kick It, Against the Flow, This Road, That Thing I Do, Freestyle, Nintendo, Enough Is Enough, Nate, How We Roll, and Live and Learn/Kick It Reprise.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Automatic

Posted : 10 years, 8 months ago on 21 March 2007 12:25 (A review of Automatic)

Probably the most mediocre rap/hip hop I've ever heard. Some people may enjoy this album, but I didn't. Nothing about this album stands out. Tracks include: Set the Tone, Wisdom, Rush, Dusk, Appealing Conversations, Off Beats, It, Midnight, Love Dance, Automatic, God Save Us, Dedicated, Your State. 3 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Revolution

Posted : 10 years, 8 months ago on 19 March 2007 09:08 (A review of Revolution)

All-Star United takes it down one more level for this more thoughtful album. The infectious fast-paced rock isn't found on this album, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing. Tracks include: We Are the Future, Let It Rain (I'm Gonna Shine), Revolution, Sweet Jesus, Making It Beautiful, Kings and Queens, Made in Heaven, You Can Count on Me, Global Breakdown, Weirdo. I give this 6 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

International Anthems for the Human Race

Posted : 10 years, 8 months ago on 19 March 2007 08:35 (A review of International Anthems for the Human Race)

All-Star United comes back with "International Anthems", a slower paced record. While they still have several upbeat songs, the album is drastically slower than the self-titled. Lyrics are more thoughtful, and worship centered. Tracks include: Welcome To Our Big Rock Show, Popular Americans, International Anthem, Thank You Goodnight, If We Were Lovers, Worldwide Socialites Unite, I Need You Now, Theme from Summer, Everything Will Be Alright, Superstar, Put Your Arms Around Me. 7 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

All-Star United

Posted : 10 years, 8 months ago on 19 March 2007 07:46 (A review of All Star United)

Fast, slow, and everything in-between. All-Star United masters their art in their self-titled cd. Tracks inlcude: La La Land, Bright Red Carpet, Angels, Drive, Torn, Smash Hit, Saviour of My Universe, Beautiful Thing, Tenderness, Lullaby. 9 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

15 Charismatic Wonders

Posted : 10 years, 9 months ago on 16 March 2007 08:02 (A review of 15 Charismatic Wonders)

Average punk rock. Not great, but not bad either. Tracks include: What I Want (Always End Up Wrong), A Lot To Learn, One-Hundred Thousand, Give Away, It's Up To You, Valentine, Legally Murdered, Little Things, One Special Night, Next, Who Am I, Friend, Coming Back, Feeling Low, Start Me Over. 5 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block