Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Music (28)

Radical History Tour

Posted : 10 years, 1 month ago on 30 August 2007 04:09 (A review of Radical History Tour)

This is one of ApologetiX's very first cds, and it shows. The vocals are irritating, the music is nothing new, and I still have a problem with this band. The biggest thing about this album, however, is the vocals. Ever heard the sound of fingernails scraping across a chalkboard? The vocals sound about the same. The only thing that impressed me about this album is the instrumentation. But again, they're just copying a song and changing the lyrics. So this cd gets 1 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Keep the Change...literally

Posted : 10 years, 2 months ago on 25 July 2007 04:57 (A review of Keep the Change)

When ApologetiX released their first few cds, I honestly could not stand them. But something changed somewhere down the line, and there are a few of their cds I can actually listen to. This is one of them. Vocals are still a problem on several songs, but again, there are a few songs that "save" this cd from being a complete disaster. With that being said, this cd gets 4 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Jesus Christ Morningstar

Posted : 10 years, 2 months ago on 25 July 2007 03:47 (A review of Jesus Christ Morningstar)

I have finally figured out why I dislike ApologetiX so much: the vocals: Everything about the vocals are irritating and make listening to the music seem like the most dreaded chore. Albeit, some of the songs are listenable (for me, at least), but that's not enough to save this disc. The only thing JCM has going for it is its length, clocking in at a little over an hour, easily the shortest of all ApologetiX cds. I give this cd (a rather generous) 3 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Grace Period

Posted : 10 years, 3 months ago on 21 July 2007 07:43 (A review of Grace Period)

Now here's a first: an ApologetiX cd I can actually stand listening to. Maybe it's because I like most of the original songs, maybe it's something completely different, but here's a cd I like from ApologetiX. The unoriginality is still there, but the quality of the music is much better than any other of their cds. This is the ApologetiX cd to check out. 5 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Biblical Graffiti

Posted : 10 years, 3 months ago on 21 July 2007 05:38 (A review of Biblical Graffiti)

Once again, I have a hard time getting into ApologetiX. The one thing I have against this band is the fact that the only thing separating this band from a karaoke band is a few switched lyrics. As I said in my last ApologetiX review, I'm a fan of originality, and there isn't really any in this cd. The other thing I have against this band is the long, drawn out cd that gets old after the first few tracks. If you're a fan of Weird Al, you'll probably love this band. I'm not, so I give this cd 3 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Decemberunderground

Posted : 10 years, 5 months ago on 4 May 2007 07:35 (A review of Decemberunderground)

Edgey rock. Lyrics are dark and focus a lot on death. If you can get past the dark lyrics, this is a good album. If you don't like the lyrics, check out Emery or The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus. I give this 7 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Dialogue: Rudolph Wayne vs. The Man

Posted : 10 years, 5 months ago on 1 May 2007 06:48 (A review of The Dailogue: Rudolph Wayne vs. the Man)

This cd is a departure for .rod laver. The band had disbanded for some time, but after a while the lead singer decided to bring the band back together. However, he couldn't get the old band together, so he is now going solo under the old band name. This cd incorporates more straight rap, but the quality of the cd is not great. I'd call this your average cd. Not great, but not bad either. I give this 6 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

In a Perfect World

Posted : 10 years, 5 months ago on 1 May 2007 03:29 (A review of In a Perfect World)

"In a Pefect World" is nearly perfect itself. With this cd, .rod laver really shows off their talent. They've got their music down to a science. This is a very likeable, sing-along cd. Not at all hard to get into. I'd recommend this cd to anyone. 7 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Essence of the Game

Posted : 10 years, 5 months ago on 1 May 2007 02:50 (A review of Essence of the Game)

This cd is unlike any other .rod laver cd they have ever put out. It is their first cd, so it a little more raw than the others. What really makes this different is the harder edge mixed with more straight rap. That being said, I enjoyed the cd. I can imagine a lot of people will have a hard time getting into this cd, but give it a little time and it will grow on you. This is worth checking out. 7 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

!Hero

Posted : 10 years, 5 months ago on 27 April 2007 07:40 (A review of !Hero The Rock Opera)

A star-filled compilation/drama/opera, !Hero is the story of a 21st century Jesus born in Bethlehem, Pennselvannia. This is a well-thought out project, but you need to see the live performance to get the full effect of what's going on. I give this 6 out of 10 stars.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 3 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block